Saturday, 19th of December 2016 was the Final phase of the national competition “Moot Court ECHR – Albania 2016”. It was organized for the third time by the European Centre in cooperation with the Civil Rights Defenders in Albania.
After the qualification phase through written arguments in both cases, as to the applicant and the state and later on, after the verbal confrontation between the six best semifinal teams, the two winning teams who faced off in the finals were:
The Faculty of Law, University of Tirana, represented by:

Leader: Oriona Mucollari
Members: Joani Leka, Silvana Rusi, Paola Ibraj, Artemida Hoxhaj, Alban Avdulla, Elvis Tosuni.

And, “Marin Barleti” University, represented by:
Leader: Dorina Terziu
Members: Ohrida Jaçelli, Brikena Bufi, Romario Hoxha, Megi Katroshi, Klaus Lleshi, Suela Alla.

The panel of judges on the final hearing was composed by:
Mr. Xhezair Zaganjori – President of the Supreme Court of Albania
Mrs. Vjollca Meçaj – Ex-judge of the Constitutional Court
Mrs. Irma Baraku – Antidiscrimination Commissioner
Mr. Florjan Kalaja – Judge
Mrs. Ardjana Shehi – Lawyer
Mr. Dorjan Matlija – Lawyer
Mrs. Manjola Xhaxho – Judge

Both teams faced each-other by defending their own arguments. Then, the judicial panel evaluated each performance based on their defence and determined the winning team of the Moot Court ECHR – Albania 2016 – “The Faculty of Law, University of Tirana” team. The winning team will be representing Albania in the regional competition of Moot Court, which will be held in Tirana, in March 2017.

The final phase was a very important and memorable moment for the students, in terms of the experience gained in the professional, academic and practical field, to file a case in court.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Skip to toolbar